© 2016 by Waterside Manor. 

Privacy Policy  |  Terms & Conditions

<a href="http://www.freepik.com/free-vector/golden-stars_792236.htm">Designed by Freepik</a>

  • Instagram
  • Facebook Social Icon

ADDRESS

Wadhurst

East Sussex TN5 6HW

(For further details please contact owner)

watersideltd@gmail.com

REVIEWS AND PRESS

 

 

We cannot thank you enough for letting us host our special day at your stunning home.  Our guests were blown away and many said its the most beautiful house they've ever seen.

Thank you so much for the best day of our entire lives and your beautiful home made it heaven on earth.  We were all transported to a magical place and it will be forever etched on our hearts.

Lucy & Jason

July 2019

"Heaven on Earth"

 

 

We all had the best time

Posted by Sue USA on 13/07/2016

 

We rented Waterside House for 7 days for family celebration in July. It is set amongst beautiful countryside with stunning lake views from almost every room .

The house is spacious, yet it still has a cosy feel which just adds to its charm.

Helen the owner was not only extremely welcoming but went out of her way to make sure we had a good time - such a lovely lady!

Our vacation was a huge success and we all had the best time. We really hope to visit Waterside House again to create some more priceless memories with our family.

Thank you !

Susan

USA

 

 

The location is perfect

Posted by Nicholas on 01/06/2016

I decided to hire Waterside House for my wife's birthday and for 14 guests. I was met by the property owner who is very friendly. The location is perfect - tucked away, but not too much so. The local gastro pubs provide good quality food, we also arranged to have local caters brought in and they were very good too. There is plenty of room for guests to stay and kitchen, reception rooms and accommodation are to a high standard. Wonderful weekend, couldn't have gone any better, thank you Helen.

Nicolas

 

 

Fantastic birthday weekend!

Posted by Matthew on 25/11/2015

Thank you for a fantastic weekend; the house was immaculate and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

I shall of course be recommending the house to all and sundry, and booking it again myself in the future!

Matthew

Please reload

REVIEWS

Daily Telegraph Travel Feature

An Arts and Craft-style mansion beautifully set against a lake, sprawling Waterside Manore is a serene setting for a spring getaway

English holiday homes for horses

With stables and paddocks on site, a number of high-end English holiday homes are catering to lovers of horses

by Claire Wrathall - February 17, 2016  The Telegraph

In Britain, committed owners of horses spend an average of £3,105 each year to ensure their animal is well cared for, so why would they not want to take them on holiday too?

According to the British Horse Society, there are 988,000 horses in the UK, and an average of £3,105 is spent on the upkeep of each per year - that's a staggering £2.8 billion collectively. A proportion of those are obviously working horses (though fewer than 14,000 are racehorses in training), but even so it’s a figure that suggests there’s a substantial cohort of Britons who keep horses as companion animals, if that’s the phrase. In which case why would they not want to take them on holiday?

Of course there have always been farm stays and independent rural B&Bs that welcome horses and treated them royally. But the human quarters are rarely what this column would countenance as luxury. Wise to this gap in the market, Oliver Bell and Ravi Sabharwal, the hippophile founders of villa specialist Oliver’s Travels, have resolved to fill it. The focus of their operation may to date have been the Mediterranean and Caribbean, but they have now pledged to build a portfolio of top-spec UK properties with stable accommodation for riding parties too.

 

To date there are just four properties on their books, the most beautifully sited of which is Waterside House (sleeps 16; two stables; from £7,000 a week), seven miles from Tunbridge Wells in Sussex, with direct access to woodland  and 13 miles of bridle paths. Built in the 1920s in the Arts and Crafts style and surrounded by formal gardens and lawns, it stands on the edge of Bewl Water, the largest stretch of open water in the South East (so there is also fishing).

A UK company is pioneering BYOH (bring your own horse) vacations

FEBRUARY 17, 2016 05:03PM - by LIZ LUCKING - NYC Luxury

Oliver’s Travels, a UK based travel company, is branching out from their typical offerings of Mediterranean and Caribbean vacations and have pledged, “to build a portfolio of top-spec UK properties with stable accommodation,” reports The Telegraph. What this really means is that they’re catering to a very select clientele, a clientele that want to take their horses on vacation.

Considering that Brits spend, according to The Telegraph, an average of £2.8 billion ($4 billion) collectively on their long-faced friends each year, it stands to reason that perhaps they wish to give their pets a chance to relax.

Oliver’s Travels currently have four horse-friendly (and very people-friendly) accommodations on their books:

Waterside Manor, in Tunbridge Wells in Sussex is just a stones throw away from London. It sleeps 16 humans and two horses. Prices start at £7,000 ($10,000) a week.

Waterside House is a beautiful example of a traditional English country residence, with expansive lush grounds, and a stunning lakeside location. The house is only an hour from London, yet offers complete privacy and quiet, with several small villages the closest habitation in the nearby area. The eight bedroom house offers a classic English kitchen with every modern appliance a guest could desire, with solid oak flooring. The house offers a spacious terrace which faces south – on a sunny day this is the perfect spot to enjoy a coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. The owner of the property is an interior designer by day, and has decorated and outfitted the property to an exceptional standard. Exposed beams run across the ceilings, hinting at the history of the building, and dark, heavy wood banisters line the impressive staircase. The house sits on the banks of Bewl Water, and the 13 mile circumference lake can be the backdrop to your elegant stay here, or it can be the venue for trout fishing, cycling, rowing, canoeing,windsurfing, sailing, kayaking and more. If guests visit during colder months, they will be able to sit around the open log fire in the ‘Gun Room’ in warmth and cosiness, or jump in the eight-seat Jacuzzi with views over the lake. During the summer, glorious sunshine beams in through the breakfast room via a huge glass ceiling, and the arch windows in the drawing room give panoramic views over the lake. For entertainment, the house offers a grand games room, complete with pool table, table tennis, and even a croquet set to finish off the quintessential English country experience. With gated grounds, an immaculate and sweeping drive and an impressive aesthetic presence, Waterside House is stately, imposing and luxurious.

Please reload

PRESS
More Reviews

Most of us didn't know what to expect .......

Posted by Rosie 10th December 2016

Most of us didn’t know what to expect but Waterside house couldn’t have been more perfect for our group having a pre-Christmas long weekend gathering  We are 15 old friends and new, mainly couples between 50 and 70.   Our leaders had been very organized and made a great choice of venue as well as planning  a curry night on Friday, black tie Christmas dinner on Saturday and a group walk to the Old Vine pub, with dogs, for Sunday lunch.

 

The house is superbly situated by the lake with several different walks through woods, fields and around the waterside.   We would plan to go boating and fishing when the weather is warmer.  It is also very handy for visiting any number of National Trust and other properties open to the public such as Chartwell and Batemans.

 

The kitchen, fully equipped for catering,  leads seamlessly into the dining area and so there is plenty of room to stand around while some of us were preparing food.! The utility room is useful for muddy boots.  There are two lovely sitting rooms so TV watchers (or children) can be happily separated from those who prefer to read the weekend papers in peace!  The games room and table football were well used too.

 

We enjoyed beautiful misty sunrises and  glorious sunsets over Bewl water.   The outside area is wonderful. We were blessed with good weather and sitting on the patio in the morning sun you could almost believe it was summer.

 

The bedrooms varied in size but all were warm and well equipped.  Thank you for decorating the house so attractively for Christmas!  The panelled hall with a huge Christmas tree was a great area for photos!

 

 

All in all a great weekend.  We are already planning a return visit. Thank you.

Rosie, December 2016

Our Favourite Place

Posted by Emily, 22/10/16

We went to Waterside House for a reunion weekend which is something we do every year but this was definitely our favourite of the places we have stayed in. It has an unbeatable location on Bewl water, is secluded but not cut off, there are wonderful walks around the lake and even a pub you can walk to. The house itself has everything you could wish for, the bedrooms are large and beautifully decorated and there is plenty of space throughout to relax, get together and have fun (the hot tub was very popular, even in October). The owner (I leave it to you if you like your name in reviews or not ?) was very welcoming and helpful and gave us lots of useful information about walks, local facilities and also provided us with details for a caterer. We will definitely come back and look forward to our next visit.

Emily, October 2016

“Thank you ever so much about having us at Waterside House...

The whole family had an amazing time, relaxing in this luxury property, kayaking, fishing, biking around the reservoir, going on a picnic, and doing golf and horse riding every day. The property is perfectly situated on the banks of Bewl Water with amazing views of the reservoir, and it combines the serenity of the nature and privacy of the house, with the many activities available to do both on Bewl Water and in the area.

 

The house is beautiful, with many nicely decorated bedrooms, lovely kitchen, amazing dining room. We loved that the house has its own very unique character of an old manor house, the decor is creating feeling of comfort and luxury, whilst the modern amenities are introduced in a subtle manner. The main reception area is simply beautiful.

 

We have received an amazing service, and the owner was absolutely wonderful. She has helped us with everything we needed, and it has been done meticulously. We have had everything organized for us to the smallest detail, however pretentious it was. The owner arranged cleaners for us, a chef and catering service which was superb, and also the best butler we have ever had. The staff has tended to absolutely all our needs and were highly professional.

 

We loved having champagne and  canapés in both the Gun Room and the large living room with gorgeous views of the sunset over Bewl Water. Then dining in luxury in the large dining room. I especially enjoyed after dinner the patio facing Bewl Water, having exquisite wine with local cheese selection, listening to the relaxing sounds of the birds and other wildlife coming over from the other end of Bewl Water, whilst watching the moon over the waters.

 

The children were fascinated with some of the history of the house, and to explore and find out some of the secrets that the house keeps. We have had an amazing 6 days and we will definitely choose Waterside House again and again. We have been in many worldwide famous resorts on holiday across the Maldives, Bali, Thailand and others, and I can compare the fun times that we have had there, combined with the service and luxury of the property with these, and honestly say that they Waterside House is a match for these.

 

If you are after a more exclusive break, or have a special occasion I would thoroughly recommend Waterside House as a perfect choice for that.”

August 2016

Fantastic team off-site
Posted by Mariya L on 11/04/2016

 

Absolutely perfect accommodation and location for the team -off-site, Great 7 bedrooms ensuite, extremely cosy two large living rooms with real fireplaces, large kitchen where we all could cook together ( was a part of our team building exercise). Beautiful surroundings, extremely pleasant walks by water, 5 mins away is a great bistro and tea house.

Mariya

The house exceeded our expectations
​Posted by Nick on 18/03/2016

We couldn't have been more impressed with this beautiful house. The views of the lake surrounding the property set it apart and the house itself is a wonderful mixture of period charm with modern facilities. We were delighted to find the house exceeded our expectations from the pictures we had seen and the owner of the property is extremely helpful and easy to contact. We rented the property for a family get-together and we found the big open spaces both inside and out were perfect for a big group with plenty of bedrooms to accommodate us all. Our only regret was we didn't have longer to stay..... maybe next time!

Nick

Many Magical Moments
​Created on 03/03/2016

 

Waterside House is perfect for a family celebration. This beautiful Arts & Crafts house is in a superb position on the banks of Bewl Water, so comfortably and attractively decorated, with so much space inside and out, and the charming owner, Helen, could not have done more to make our stay a very special and happy time. Waking up in the four poster bed watching the sun rise over the water was one of the many magical moments. Our whole family is looking forward to returning to this very special place.

Best weekend ever
​Posted by Sophie B on 01/02/2016

 

Hi Helen - thanks for the best weekend ever!! We will definitely be recommending your beautiful house to all friends and family. We hope to come again soon. Sophie B,

Sophie B

An absolutely fantastic New Year!
​Posted by Charlotte H on 17/01/2016

 

Waterside House is absolutely stunning and was the perfect place to see in the New Year. The house absorbs people; there is so much space and so many rooms that we never felt crammed in. It was wonderful having two wood burning fires on the go when it was blustery outside and the games room was a fantastic plus. The bedrooms all have ensuites and every room has been decorated to a high spec. In addition it was brilliant having the open space and walks around the lake right on the doorstep. We had such a fantastic time here and didn't want our stay to come to an end! Helen was incredibly helpful both before and after our stay, I highly recommend Waterside House!

Charlotte H

Thank you for the perfect Christmas!

Posted by Anne C. on 31/12/2015

 

Wonderful house, well appointed, comfortable and spacious with good facilities . We slept 18 comfortably, 10 children under 11 ( one baby ) and 8 adults . There was plenty to do with the children and they loved the games room. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas and we had a great time together.

Anne C

Spectacular!

Posted by Myles on 27/11/2015

 

Helen made the whole process from start to finish an absolute breeze. The property is spectacular with mind blowing views across the lake. It has so much room for activities and you will never want to leave.

I would recommend this stunning property to everyone. It will be greatly missed. Thank you for the memories.

Myles

Absolutely loved it!

Posted by Ibrahim (Luxury Travel Guide) on 09/11/2015

 

I absolutely loved the stay there, Helen was lovely and a great host. I was knocked back a little by the sheer size of the place, the location right by the lake is fantastic and the outdoor hot tub is a nice touch.

Ibrahim

A very special birthday weekend

Posted by Desiree on 06/10/2015

 

Our weekend at Waterside House was one of the best weekends I've had in recent memory. The house was full of character and absolutely stunning, with unrivalled views of the lake, and we had plenty of room outside to play games and bask in the sun. Helen was a wonderful host, and shared with us the best walks and places to see around the lake - we ended up having a lovely walk around the lake to watch rugby in a nearby pub. Our friends loved the experience, and it made my birthday very special.

Desiree

Fabulous!

Posted by Kate M on 29/09/2015

 

Dear Oliver’s Travels,

Thanks so much for sorting the house for us - was faaaaabulous!! Kate x

Kate M

An amazing family reunion

Posted by Robinson family on 17/09/2015

 

We stayed at waterside house in September 2015 for 7 nights. We used this amazing property for a family reunion and everyone had a great time. From the minute we drove down the long driveway and saw this very private and huge house on the banks of the reservoir we knew the property was special. All the rooms are huge with ensuites, so everyone had the chance to relax and the many entertaining areas also meant plenty of space for all the family members and kids. The table tennis and croquet sets were a hit with the kids and adults alike! The area is fantastic with lots of activities including quad bike riding, boating, go ape & fishing right out the front door. There are also lots of great pubs with great food in the area, our favourite was the Bull which is a very old pub less than 10 minutes away. We will definitely be back!

Robinson Family

Superb location and lovely house

Posted by Steven O on 17/08/2015

 

Superb lakeside property with extensive grounds. Easily coped with 10 adults, 3 children and a baby and there were still parts of the house we didn't really use. The owner was also extremely helpful - you can tell it has been a happy home. There is also a lovely outside BBQ area which is perfect on a summers evening

Steven O

A fantastic time at Waterside

Posted by Jamie on 04/08/2015

 

We had a great time staying in Waterside House. We were a group of 16 and the house provided well for everyone. The house is stunning. Full of character and luxury spaces. The garden is beautiful and its right by the water. We were able to have group meals in the Dining room, BBQ outside.

Helen was also extremely helpful in recommending activities for us to do and researching into things for us. She even found us a chef who was able to leave food out on our arrival.

All round we had a fantastic time. The house was perfect, I only regret we couldn't of stayed longer.

Jamie

Gorgeous views of the sunset over Bewl Water

Thank you ever so much about having us at Waterside House. The whole family had an amazingtime, relaxing in this luxury property, kayaking, fishing, biking around the reservoir, going on a picnic, and doing golf and horse riding every day. The property is perfectly situated on the banks of Bewl Water with amazing views of the reservoir, and it combines the serenity of the nature and privacy of the house, with the many activities available to do both on Bewl Water and in the area.

The house is beautiful, with many nicely decorated bedrooms, lovely kitchen, amazing dining room. We loved that the house has its own very unique character of an old manor house, the decor is creating feeling of comfort and luxury, whilst the modern amenities are introduced in a subtle manner. The main reception area is simply beautiful. We have received an amazing service, and the owner was absolutely wonderful. She has helped us with everything we needed, and it has been done meticulously.

We have had everything organized for us to the smallest detail, however pretentious it was ... cleaners for us, a chef and catering service which was superb, and also the best butler we have ever had. The staff has tended to absolutely all our needs and were highly professional.

We loved having champagne and canapés in both the Gun Room and the large living room with gorgeous views of the sunset over Bewl Water. Then dining in luxury in the large dining room. I especially enjoyed after dinner the patio facing Bewl Water, having exquisite wine with local cheese selection, listening to the relaxing sounds of the

birds and other wildlife coming over from the other end of Bewl Water, whilst watching the moon

over the waters. The children were fascinated with some of the history of the house, and to explore and find out

some of the secrets that the house keeps. We have had an a mazing 6 days and we will definitely choose Waterside House again and again.

We have been in many worldwide famous resorts on holiday across the Maldives, Bali, Thailand and others, and I can compare the fun times that we have had there, combined with the service and luxury of the property with these, and honestly say that they Waterside House is a match for these. If you are after a more exclusive break, or have a special occasion I would thoroughly recommend Waterside House as a perfect choice for that.

August 2016

Please reload