Reviews 2019-2022


 

Mrs J B

Great House, amazing views

 Left on Dec 12, 2021 for a stay in Dec 2021

Oh my word what an amazing house Waterside Manor is. Just back from a fabulous weekend away, celebrating my Husbands birthday, 15 of us in total. Lovely private location with amazing views and walks. The house exceeded our expectations, beautiful spaces to share and spend time with our friends. I thought it would be hard to decide who would go into each of the 8 bedrooms, but they are all so beautiful everyone was happy. Thank you to Helen who answered all of my questions before We arrived and helped organising a delivery that came earlier than expected. Wonderful, wonderful all good and would highly recommend

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

 

Sightsee30388751225

A Christmas Experience

 Left on Dec 31, 2021 for a stay in Dec 2021

A lovely home, spotlessly clean, well equipped for the Christmas season and tastefully decorated, with an attention to detail. Each room is unique and made special through thoughtful preparation and design. The fact that the property overlooks the lake makes it even more special, and the surrounding woodland made it a prefect place to walk off our over indulgence! We very much appreciated the ready availability and welcoming friendliness of the owner, who dealt swiftly and effectively with our few minor queries. We would happily return at some point in the future.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lizzie Dillon - September 2021

Waterside house is the most perfect country house in the most stunning location. The house itself was even more beautiful than we could have imagined and the setting was absolutely magical. Waking up to the most breathtaking views of the sun on the water on a perfect late summer morning was an incredibly special experience. We hired the house for a special celebration with friends and all of us agreed it was one of the best weekends we have ever spent together. We enjoyed a delicious dinner courtesy of one of their recommended caterers (Clever Cooks) and a truly relaxing weekend in this fantastic and well equipped house. Afternoon tea on the terrace and Sunday lunch in the beautiful gardens were also highlights of the weekend. The house is very well equipped and the owner Helen was extremely helpful in dealing with our queries in the run up to our stay. We had the most fantastic weekend at Waterside house and can't wait for an excuse to go back! It's a very special place.

The Stuart Family - October 2021

Everybody had a very enjoyable stay in an extremely comfortable spacious house in a beautiful setting. We were all very sad to leave.

Humber family - October 2021

We had a full house over a weekend for a Golden Wedding celebration postponed from last year. The high point being the excellent Saturday evening meal prepared by Jaquie and her staff. A wet Saturday seemed insignificant with the comfort of the lounge areas, including the log burners. When the sun appeared the children enjoyed the aquapark play grounds and adults the views over and walks beside Bewl Water. With the comfort of the bedrooms and the well equipped kitchen Waterside provided a weekend of enjoyment that will be remembered by us and our guest's

NatashaG19766

A must visit, a wonderful property in beautiful location

Left on Oct 30, 2021 for a stay in Oct 2021

A beautiful house, in a wonderful location. A brilliant time was had by us all, multi generational family stay. The games room is a brilliant addition, the bedrooms are divine with super comfy beds. Really can’t wait to go back !!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ami David - 2021

A group of 14 of us who normally travel on holidays together mostly out of UK spent a glorious week at Waterside Manor to celebrate my 75th birthday. We had an absolutely comfortable and enjoyable stay culminating in a party with champagne and canapés on the terrace overlooking the tranquil Bewl Water followed by a sit down dinner catered for by external chefs and waiters. The house lends itself well to a large group the kitchen is extremely well equipped and there are enough areas to escape others and have quiet reflection time or board games or simply admire the views / go for a walk. Helen the owner took meticulous care of our needs and was always available at the other end of the phone for queries and suggestions to improve our stay. Thank you - the best birthday celebration ever!

Rachel - 2021

What struck me most about this beautiful old Manor House apart from the amazing location was how immaculately clean it was. I must also say that Helen has been absolutely brilliant to deal with especially as we had to cancel and rebook due to Covid. Helen makes every effort to go the extra mile to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay absolutely perfect. Couldn’t recommend it highly enough.

Laura Friend - September 2021

What a wonderful venue for a family celebration. So much space and so elegantly decorated. We had such a lovely stay with beautiful weather, allowing us to take advantage of the stunning views as we breakfasted out on the veranda and had pre-dinner drinks. The grounds are beautiful and you can hear the geese on the reservoir while you play boules or sit in the hot tub-it is so peaceful. We only wish that we could have stayed longer! Special mention for Andrea who catered our celebration meal-Helen will pass on contact details if you need someone. Thank you, Helen, for all of your help. It was an outstanding backdrop to a memorable event. We hope that we can find another excuse to come back!

Folkestone, United Kingdom

Beautiful house in a stunning, secluded location

 Left on Sep 2, 2020 for a stay in Aug 2020

Booked for 12 family members to enjoy a get together after lockdown eased. (Not forgetting the dog!) Helen, the owner made us feel very welcome when she showed us round. What a perfect place. Quiet, amazing views of the lake, lovely well kept gardens with plenty of seating for everyone yet close enough to local amenities if desired. The house has everything anyone could want and more, extremely homely and comfortable, with the added touch of luxury that makes it special The games room is great for all big kids to enjoy, board games provided for rainy days, croquet and boules for fun on the lawns. The hot tub/jacuzzi is perfect. Walks round the lake are a must, and the amenities of Bewl water are within walking distance. We all had an amazing time and would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting a get away from it all break with a difference.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

 

Alison Weston

What a wonderful week we had at Waterside Manor. A truly magical and breathtaking location for our family and friends get together. I can not recommend it enough. Special mention must go to the owner, who was so welcoming and accommodated to our every need. Thank you so much for making it an unforgettable weekend, Helen!

Maddie Robinson - September 2020

My family and I had the most amazing weekend at Waterside Manor. From first enquiring to book our stay, Helen the owner was so friendly and helpful, ensuring we had the dates we wanted, all our needs were met and suggesting fun activities local to the house for all age groups. When arriving we were greeted by her smiling face and had an amazing tour of the beautiful house. Any questions we had she was happy to answer, and she made us feel at home straight away. The house is absolutely stunning, with views of Bewl Water to marvel at, and an amazing house layout with space for all the family and more, including a games room which was the centre of most evenings! We had the most amazing week at Waterside Manor and cannot wait to visit again!

Percy Anthony

What an amazing property for an unforgettable weekend! Incredible views of the lake, great for entertaining and relaxing in luxurious bedrooms. can thoroughly recommend for family and friend retreats. I will certainly be returning!

Patricia Pigott

Beautiful

Scott Stevens - August 2020

Absolutely fabulous house ! Amazing views ! Everything you want for a weekend break with all the family ! Waterside escapes were excellent ! Great communication and professional company that ensure all our needs were catered for ! A very enjoyable weekend

Vitek

The most magical setting, comfortable and well cared for, charming owner, we loved it!

Mark

What an amazing and breath taking place. We stayed here for a long weekend, the house is beautiful and full of character yet lots of space for large social meals and outside seating. All of the bedrooms are decorated and presented wonderfully. There is lots of space for cricket and rounders and the hot hub there is a lovely bonus. We had outside food cooked for us on the Saturday and we visited the Vineyard pub on the Sunday which we would highly recommend. The staff / food / drinks were a delight. The views and location are absolutely breath taking, you really have to see this house in real life to appropriate it. Thank you to Helen the owner for everything. We will definitely be back.

Georgina

We had the most amazing weekend. Will be recommending the house to all our relatives.

Ian B. - December 2019

All the family had a wonderful time and we all agreed that Waterside Manor is a fabulous location . The week provided us with some lovely Christmas memories and everything about the house was ideal.. The adaption to the ground floor shower room worked well and your help in doing that was very much appreciated. We would all like to visit again , so we will start saving and hopefully return before too long. (shower was adapted for wheelchair access)

Edward R

Amazing house, hot tub, everything was fantastic - tha

"We had the most amazing weekend, Will be back and recommending to all our relatives."

28 Feb 2019 - Friends Gathering

"Very special weekend.  The house and setting are spectacular and we all enjoyed our stay, thank you"

14th Feb 2019 - Birthday Weekend

"All the family had a wonderful time and we all agreed that Waterside Manor is a fabulous location.  The week provided us with some lovely Christmas memories and everything about the house was ideal. We would like to visit again, so will start saving and hopefully return before too long"

Christmas 2019 - Family Week

More Reviews

Most of us didn't know what to expect .......

Posted by Rosie 10th December 2016

Most of us didn’t know what to expect but Waterside house couldn’t have been more perfect for our group having a pre-Christmas long weekend gathering  We are 15 old friends and new, mainly couples between 50 and 70.   Our leaders had been very organized and made a great choice of venue as well as planning  a curry night on Friday, black tie Christmas dinner on Saturday and a group walk to the Old Vine pub, with dogs, for Sunday lunch.

 

The house is superbly situated by the lake with several different walks through woods, fields and around the waterside.   We would plan to go boating and fishing when the weather is warmer.  It is also very handy for visiting any number of National Trust and other properties open to the public such as Chartwell and Batemans.

 

The kitchen, fully equipped for catering,  leads seamlessly into the dining area and so there is plenty of room to stand around while some of us were preparing food.! The utility room is useful for muddy boots.  There are two lovely sitting rooms so TV watchers (or children) can be happily separated from those who prefer to read the weekend papers in peace!  The games room and table football were well used too.

 

We enjoyed beautiful misty sunrises and  glorious sunsets over Bewl water.   The outside area is wonderful. We were blessed with good weather and sitting on the patio in the morning sun you could almost believe it was summer.

 

The bedrooms varied in size but all were warm and well equipped.  Thank you for decorating the house so attractively for Christmas!  The panelled hall with a huge Christmas tree was a great area for photos!

 

 

All in all a great weekend.  We are already planning a return visit. Thank you.

Rosie, December 2016

Our Favourite Place

Posted by Emily, 22/10/16

We went to Waterside House for a reunion weekend which is something we do every year but this was definitely our favourite of the places we have stayed in. It has an unbeatable location on Bewl water, is secluded but not cut off, there are wonderful walks around the lake and even a pub you can walk to. The house itself has everything you could wish for, the bedrooms are large and beautifully decorated and there is plenty of space throughout to relax, get together and have fun (the hot tub was very popular, even in October). The owner (I leave it to you if you like your name in reviews or not ?) was very welcoming and helpful and gave us lots of useful information about walks, local facilities and also provided us with details for a caterer. We will definitely come back and look forward to our next visit.

Emily, October 2016

“Thank you ever so much about having us at Waterside House...

The whole family had an amazing time, relaxing in this luxury property, kayaking, fishing, biking around the reservoir, going on a picnic, and doing golf and horse riding every day. The property is perfectly situated on the banks of Bewl Water with amazing views of the reservoir, and it combines the serenity of the nature and privacy of the house, with the many activities available to do both on Bewl Water and in the area.

 

The house is beautiful, with many nicely decorated bedrooms, lovely kitchen, amazing dining room. We loved that the house has its own very unique character of an old manor house, the decor is creating feeling of comfort and luxury, whilst the modern amenities are introduced in a subtle manner. The main reception area is simply beautiful.

 

We have received an amazing service, and the owner was absolutely wonderful. She has helped us with everything we needed, and it has been done meticulously. We have had everything organized for us to the smallest detail, however pretentious it was. The owner arranged cleaners for us, a chef and catering service which was superb, and also the best butler we have ever had. The staff has tended to absolutely all our needs and were highly professional.

 

We loved having champagne and  canapés in both the Gun Room and the large living room with gorgeous views of the sunset over Bewl Water. Then dining in luxury in the large dining room. I especially enjoyed after dinner the patio facing Bewl Water, having exquisite wine with local cheese selection, listening to the relaxing sounds of the birds and other wildlife coming over from the other end of Bewl Water, whilst watching the moon over the waters.

 

The children were fascinated with some of the history of the house, and to explore and find out some of the secrets that the house keeps. We have had an amazing 6 days and we will definitely choose Waterside House again and again. We have been in many worldwide famous resorts on holiday across the Maldives, Bali, Thailand and others, and I can compare the fun times that we have had there, combined with the service and luxury of the property with these, and honestly say that they Waterside House is a match for these.

 

If you are after a more exclusive break, or have a special occasion I would thoroughly recommend Waterside House as a perfect choice for that.”

August 2016

Fantastic team off-site
Posted by Mariya L on 11/04/2016

 

Absolutely perfect accommodation and location for the team -off-site, Great 7 bedrooms ensuite, extremely cosy two large living rooms with real fireplaces, large kitchen where we all could cook together ( was a part of our team building exercise). Beautiful surroundings, extremely pleasant walks by water, 5 mins away is a great bistro and tea house.

Mariya

The house exceeded our expectations
​Posted by Nick on 18/03/2016

We couldn't have been more impressed with this beautiful house. The views of the lake surrounding the property set it apart and the house itself is a wonderful mixture of period charm with modern facilities. We were delighted to find the house exceeded our expectations from the pictures we had seen and the owner of the property is extremely helpful and easy to contact. We rented the property for a family get-together and we found the big open spaces both inside and out were perfect for a big group with plenty of bedrooms to accommodate us all. Our only regret was we didn't have longer to stay..... maybe next time!

Nick

Many Magical Moments
​Created on 03/03/2016

 

Waterside House is perfect for a family celebration. This beautiful Arts & Crafts house is in a superb position on the banks of Bewl Water, so comfortably and attractively decorated, with so much space inside and out, and the charming owner, Helen, could not have done more to make our stay a very special and happy time. Waking up in the four poster bed watching the sun rise over the water was one of the many magical moments. Our whole family is looking forward to returning to this very special place.

Best weekend ever
​Posted by Sophie B on 01/02/2016

 

Hi Helen - thanks for the best weekend ever!! We will definitely be recommending your beautiful house to all friends and family. We hope to come again soon. Sophie B,

Sophie B

An absolutely fantastic New Year!
​Posted by Charlotte H on 17/01/2016

 

Waterside House is absolutely stunning and was the perfect place to see in the New Year. The house absorbs people; there is so much space and so many rooms that we never felt crammed in. It was wonderful having two wood burning fires on the go when it was blustery outside and the games room was a fantastic plus. The bedrooms all have ensuites and every room has been decorated to a high spec. In addition it was brilliant having the open space and walks around the lake right on the doorstep. We had such a fantastic time here and didn't want our stay to come to an end! Helen was incredibly helpful both before and after our stay, I highly recommend Waterside House!

Charlotte H

Thank you for the perfect Christmas!

Posted by Anne C. on 31/12/2015

 

Wonderful house, well appointed, comfortable and spacious with good facilities . We slept 18 comfortably, 10 children under 11 ( one baby ) and 8 adults . There was plenty to do with the children and they loved the games room. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas and we had a great time together.

Anne C

Spectacular!

Posted by Myles on 27/11/2015

 

Helen made the whole process from start to finish an absolute breeze. The property is spectacular with mind blowing views across the lake. It has so much room for activities and you will never want to leave.

I would recommend this stunning property to everyone. It will be greatly missed. Thank you for the memories.

Myles

Absolutely loved it!

Posted by Ibrahim (Luxury Travel Guide) on 09/11/2015

 

I absolutely loved the stay there, Helen was lovely and a great host. I was knocked back a little by the sheer size of the place, the location right by the lake is fantastic and the outdoor hot tub is a nice touch.

Ibrahim

A very special birthday weekend

Posted by Desiree on 06/10/2015

 

Our weekend at Waterside House was one of the best weekends I've had in recent memory. The house was full of character and absolutely stunning, with unrivalled views of the lake, and we had plenty of room outside to play games and bask in the sun. Helen was a wonderful host, and shared with us the best walks and places to see around the lake - we ended up having a lovely walk around the lake to watch rugby in a nearby pub. Our friends loved the experience, and it made my birthday very special.

Desiree

Fabulous!

Posted by Kate M on 29/09/2015

 

Dear Oliver’s Travels,

Thanks so much for sorting the house for us - was faaaaabulous!! Kate x

Kate M

An amazing family reunion

Posted by Robinson family on 17/09/2015

 

We stayed at waterside house in September 2015 for 7 nights. We used this amazing property for a family reunion and everyone had a great time. From the minute we drove down the long driveway and saw this very private and huge house on the banks of the reservoir we knew the property was special. All the rooms are huge with ensuites, so everyone had the chance to relax and the many entertaining areas also meant plenty of space for all the family members and kids. The table tennis and croquet sets were a hit with the kids and adults alike! The area is fantastic with lots of activities including quad bike riding, boating, go ape & fishing right out the front door. There are also lots of great pubs with great food in the area, our favourite was the Bull which is a very old pub less than 10 minutes away. We will definitely be back!

Robinson Family

Superb location and lovely house

Posted by Steven O on 17/08/2015

 

Superb lakeside property with extensive grounds. Easily coped with 10 adults, 3 children and a baby and there were still parts of the house we didn't really use. The owner was also extremely helpful - you can tell it has been a happy home. There is also a lovely outside BBQ area which is perfect on a summers evening

Steven O

A fantastic time at Waterside

Posted by Jamie on 04/08/2015

 

We had a great time staying in Waterside House. We were a group of 16 and the house provided well for everyone. The house is stunning. Full of character and luxury spaces. The garden is beautiful and its right by the water. We were able to have group meals in the Dining room, BBQ outside.

Helen was also extremely helpful in recommending activities for us to do and researching into things for us. She even found us a chef who was able to leave food out on our arrival.

All round we had a fantastic time. The house was perfect, I only regret we couldn't of stayed longer.

Jamie

Gorgeous views of the sunset over Bewl Water

Thank you ever so much about having us at Waterside House. The whole family had an amazingtime, relaxing in this luxury property, kayaking, fishing, biking around the reservoir, going on a picnic, and doing golf and horse riding every day. The property is perfectly situated on the banks of Bewl Water with amazing views of the reservoir, and it combines the serenity of the nature and privacy of the house, with the many activities available to do both on Bewl Water and in the area.

The house is beautiful, with many nicely decorated bedrooms, lovely kitchen, amazing dining room. We loved that the house has its own very unique character of an old manor house, the decor is creating feeling of comfort and luxury, whilst the modern amenities are introduced in a subtle manner. The main reception area is simply beautiful. We have received an amazing service, and the owner was absolutely wonderful. She has helped us with everything we needed, and it has been done meticulously.

We have had everything organized for us to the smallest detail, however pretentious it was ... cleaners for us, a chef and catering service which was superb, and also the best butler we have ever had. The staff has tended to absolutely all our needs and were highly professional.

We loved having champagne and canapés in both the Gun Room and the large living room with gorgeous views of the sunset over Bewl Water. Then dining in luxury in the large dining room. I especially enjoyed after dinner the patio facing Bewl Water, having exquisite wine with local cheese selection, listening to the relaxing sounds of the

birds and other wildlife coming over from the other end of Bewl Water, whilst watching the moon

over the waters. The children were fascinated with some of the history of the house, and to explore and find out

some of the secrets that the house keeps. We have had an a mazing 6 days and we will definitely choose Waterside House again and again.

We have been in many worldwide famous resorts on holiday across the Maldives, Bali, Thailand and others, and I can compare the fun times that we have had there, combined with the service and luxury of the property with these, and honestly say that they Waterside House is a match for these. If you are after a more exclusive break, or have a special occasion I would thoroughly recommend Waterside House as a perfect choice for that.

August 2016

Please reload